Next Festival
June 1 - 9, 2019
Odessa,
Ukraine
+38 048 704 07 33
odessaclassics@gmail.com
New Ukrainian Soundscapes - 2: HAND MADE

 

Lyubov Morozova is a curator of the project



The program of contemporary music "New Ukrainian Soundscapes” last year was performed for the first time. It included four concerts by artists from Lviv, Odessa and Kyiv and consisted entirely of the music of Ukrainian contemporaries. This year the tradition of the satellite program will be continued in an expanded format. It will be focused on a hand made work.

 

The "hand made" program aims to draw attention to chamber music making as to virtuosic, unique and extraordinary work which resists globalization and mass production. Today, the performance is at a such high level as it had never been in history. But at the same time it is more difficult than ever to resist mass art and symphonic monumentalism. This year concerts of new music will expose the perfection of manual work, they also will inspire listeners to become co-authors of concerts, as several projects are declared as integral components of interactivity and participation.


The "hand made" program will take place at a new Urban Music Hall. It’s not only the official partner and one of the main scenes of the Festival, but also a cozy place that fulfills all the requirements of the program’s concept.

 




Schedule

 

 

June 02, at 21:30
Ensemble Nostri Temporis (Ukraine). Intuitive landscapes

 


Concert-action "Intuitive landscapes" is an attempt to reconcile with a cliché. After examining the beautiful in the plain and simple, we can love it and turn it into art, and through art to learn this cliché again on a different level. And to recognize it as a beautiful reality that surrounds us.


Ensemble Nostri Temporis is a Ukrainian team which plays the modern classical music.  Founded in 2007 in Kiev, it was chosen to participate in ENSEMBLE project (Summer Music Courses in Darmstadt, 2010). This band was the first to present anthologies of the musical avant-garde and modernism to the Kyiv audience. it propagandized the music of the brightest contemporary composers of different generations and it  is open to interdisciplinary projects. The ensemble members collaborated with writers Yurii Andrukhovych, Yuriy Izdrik, Serhiy Zhadan, fashion designer Ksenia Marchenko, and others.


Ensemble Nostri Temporis::
Maxim Kolomiets (oboe)
Artem Shestovsky (clarinet / bass clarinet)
Sergey Loginov (horn)
Nazar Stets (double bass)
Maria Alexandrova (piano)


The program:
Vladimir Gorlinsky – — Possibly mercury?
Yana Shlyabanska — melt.elt.el.e ...
Maksym Kolomiiets — empty pedestals
Martin Schüttler — low_poly_rose
Anton Svetlichny — Generation Ctrl-C
Denys Bocharov — Cadenza
 

 


 

June 03, at 21:30

airborne extended (Austria). Rock–Paper–Scissors

 

20180603-NUS-t

 

airborne extended is an unusual combination of a harp, a harpsichord, a flute and a recorder. It has light and airy sound and a huge range of new timbres and colors.

 

Ensemble airborne extended was founded in 2013 and is a female Quartett playing contemporary music with/without electronics and performance consisting of the instruments harp, harpsichord/keyboard, flutes, recorders/Paetzoldflutes. Being part of the Austrian NASOM-program 2018/19 airborne extended is presenting worldwide new works written for the Ensemble.

So far, there are works by Hannes Kerschbaumer, Paolo Rimoldi, Bernhard Lang, Manuela Kerer, Caroline Profanter, Joanna Wozny, Fernando Riederer, Wolfgang Mitterer, Bernhard Geigl, Elisabeth Harnik, Tomasz Skweres, Alexander Kaiser, Matthias Kranebitter, Margareta Ferek-Petric, Elisabeth Schimana, Arturo Fuentes, Mirela Ivcevic, Peter Jakober, Stefano Gervasoni, Gabriele Manca, Mario Pisati, Giorgio Magnanensi.

 

airborne extended:
Elena Gabbrielli (flutes, objects)

Sonja Leipold (harpsichord/keyboard, objects)
Caroline Mayrhofer (recorders/Paetzold, objects)
Coline-Marie Orliac (harp, objects)
Alisa Kobzar (sound design, objects)

 

The program:

Manuel Zwerger – Hypotrophy (2018) for Harp, Recorders and Guitar

Salvatore Charrino – fauno che fischia a un merlo (1980) for harp and flute
Anna Arkushyna – uǝɯ-oʍ (2013) for four whistles
Alexander Kaiser – The difficulty of crossing a field (2016) for a trio
Hannes Kerschbaumer – not.to (2017) for recorder, flute, objects and electronics
Anna Korsun – rock.paper.scissors (2010) for five performers
Mehmet Ali Uzunselvi – parallel textures (2018) for flute, recorder, harp and piano / electronics
Alisa Kobzar – Prism (2018) for sopranino blockflute / contrabass paetzold, flute C / bass flute, harp, piano and interactive live electronics

 

 


 

June 04, at 21:30

Ptakh_Jung і VJ Reinish (Ukraine). Layers

  

20180604-NUS-t

 


Ptakh_Jung and VJ Reinish are “cooking” something special for ODESSA CLASSICS festival. There will be many experiments and electronic sound. The musicians plan to do sound diving - searching for new sounds in the depths of musical devices and composing new music from them.

 

Ptakh_Jung is project of composer and keyboardist Anton Degtyarev “Ptakh” and guitarist Volodymyr Babushkin “Jung”. Musicians combine modern classics with post-rock, ambient, noise, grunge and electronics. 


The project was born in 2016 as an improvisational duo. Subsequently, the improvisations turned into tracks, and the tracks formed into a concert program. Each composition of Ptakh_Jung is a story with a powerful drama, symphonic depth and cinematic suspense. Musicians call their work "soundtracks for nonexistent films".

 

 


 

June 05, at 21:30
Maciej Frąckiewicz (Poland). Akord_Eon

 

20180605-NUS-t


In his project, the famous Polish accordionist-virtuoso will present six works of modern Polish and Ukrainian composers of different generations. These compositions were created in period from 1983 to 2016 at different stages of the creative formation of composers. Each of the works has its own prehistory of origin, its commentary from the author and its geography of performance in different musicians’ interpretation. Musical language, character, stylistic orientations, it’s belonging to program / or not belonging, technical tasks - all this distinguishes one product from another. What unites them all is the same musical instrument. What unites them here and now is the performer Maciej Frontkiewicz and his “Akord_Eon” project, whose name is a word play: a chord that resonates in the potential infinity of time as an abstract category (the philosophical concept of "Eon").

 

Maciej Frąckiewicz is a winner and laureate of many iconic international performing contests in Poland, Germany, Slovakia, Italy and Spain. He received the Paszport "Polityki" award from the Polish magazine Polityka. He is a nominee for the prestigious Polish music Fryderyk award. He graduated from the The Fryderyk Chopin University of Music in Warsaw. In addition, he improved performing skills, studying in Germany, Austria and Spain. He released several CDs with old and modern music for the accordion. He performs in Poland and abroad, playing with orchestras and solo projects. Frąckiewicz participated in many international festivals of contemporary music.

 

Akord_Eon project:
Alexander Shchetynsky – Sonata (1983)

Bohdan Sehin – A jak żeglarze ziemi cieszą się widokiem ... (2011)
Lubava Sydorenko – Vertikalis (2005)
Dariusz Przybylski – Sonata da chiesa (2011)
Mikolaj Majkusjak – Dyad (2016)
Krzysztof Penderecki – Sinfonietta (1990-91 / 2013)




 


June 06, at 21:30

Olexiy Shmurak and Heinali (Ukraine). The Queen of the Night

  

20180606-NUS-t

 


The project refers to the images of Mozart's “The Magic Flute” opera, where the symbolism of Zoroastrianism (fire-worshipers cult) embodies the mysteries of the Masonic lodge, of which the composer was a member.

 

The main antagonist in the opera is The Queen of The Night. At first she is a good character and she is saving the protagonist from the dragon. But after a series of exciting adventures which remind us of the ceremony of initiation to the Masonic lodge, we find out the real state of affairs.

 

A contradiction of darkness and light, fire and cold is the theme for the project of the Kiev duet. Its peculiar structure will allow us to feel the physical presence of the symbolism and mysticism of the outstanding composer.

 

Heinali is the pseudonym for the composer Oleg Shpudeiko, who works in the field of electronic and electro-acoustic music.

 

The recent works are: Longplay Anthem (2017) and the general longplay with the American poet Matt Finney “How We Lived” (2017), as well as music for the choreographic production of "A Thread from Jean Abreu Dance" and a video game "Bound from Plastic / Sony Santa Monica".

 

Shpudeiko and Shmurak are engaged to electroacoustic performances with emphasis on interdisciplinarity, working with space and using various media.

 

Heinali's works were published by Injazero, Flenser, Sony Interactive Entertainment and other labels.

 

 


 

 

June 07, at 21:30
Dmitry Radzetsky and «Supremus». Show of Hands

 

20180607-NUS-t


«Show of Hands» is an audiovisual work with destroyed boundaries between the musician, the stage and the public. Each listener can suddenly become a member of the work, and it gives an opportunity to get unpredictable twists and turns in the development of music.


The program will be performed by the Kiev experimental music project Supremus, led by Dmitry Radzetsky, along with his brother, bass player Sergei Radzetsky. The project was founded in 2009, and in its case are such projects as "Guitar Hallucinations" (Dnipro, 2010, Kyiv, 2011, Kharkiv, 2012, Lviv-Kropivnitsky, 2015), "Ground Music I", "Ground Music II "(Kiev, 2014). There is also "Avant Floyd" program - which is author's fantasies for Pink Floyd’s music" –  it’s a collaboration with musicians of The Band Okean Elzy (with Milos Jelic and Denys Hlinin (Kyiv, 2015))." There is also a “Hommage a Miles Davis " - a concert, dedicated to the 90th anniversary of the jazz trumpeter and composer Miles Davis birth(Kyiv, 2016).


Ensemble:
Dmitro Radzetsky (guitar)

Sergiy Radzetsky (bass guitar)
Dmytro Pashinsky (clarinet)
Sergiy Okhrimchuk (violin)
Alik Fantaev (drums)




 

June 09, at 21:30

Kharkiv Guitar Quartet (Ukraine). Orbital reverberance

 

20180609-NUS-t


New music today are complex concepts and a destruction of any borders, the desire to overcome possible in a space of unattainable abstractions. In the end everyone finds his truth. Kharkiv Guitar Quartet will try to convince its listeners that the guitar is one of the most favorable instruments for various experiments and searches in new music on Earth and beyond.


Kharkiv Guitar Quartet is a creative formation of young musicians, whose goal is to promote modern musical art in Ukraine and abroad. The quartet has in its repertoire a number of unique works, some of which are dedicated to the ensemble. It is a participant and laureate of international competitions and festivals: "Guitar Spring Fest" (Odessa, 2010); "GOGOLFEST" (Kiev, 2012, 2013); IX Belgorod International Competition of Performers on Classical Guitar and Ensembles of Guitarists (Belgorod, 2012, First Prize); "Border Club: GaliciaCult" (Kharkov, 2016), etc. The main goal of the team is to introduce contemporary art to the audience, the art which communicates in a modern language.


Ensemble:
Sergiy Gorkusha

Maxim Tryanov
Iryna Polovynka
Andriy Bragin


The program:
Daniel Kessner – Reverberance

Denys Bocharov – Six movements
Antonio Ballestin Liarte – Like an Eagle
Philip Glass – String Quartet No.2
Andrew York – Quiccan
Roland Dyens – Suite "Hamsa"
Andriy Andrushko – Literacy path

Ближайший фестиваль
1 - 10 июня 2018 г.
Украина,
г.Одесса
+38 048 704 07 33
odessaclassics@gmail.com
New Ukrainian Soundscapes - 2: HAND MADE

 

Куратор проекта - Люба Морозова



В прошлом году в рамках Международного музыкального фестиваля «Odessa Classics» впервые была реализована программа современной классической музыки «Новые украинские звуковые ландшафты». Она содержала четыре концерта исполнителей из Львова, Одессы и Киева и полностью состояла из музыки наших отечественных современников. Учитывая успех и внимание публики, в этом году традиция программы-сателлита будет продолжена в расширенном формате и сосредоточена на теме ручной работы.


Программа «hand made» ставит целью привлечь внимание к камерному музицированию как виртуозной, уникальной   и незаурядной работе, противостоит глобализации и серийности. Сегодня исполнение находится на таком высоком уровне, как никогда в истории, но в то же время ему как никогда трудно противостоять массовому искусству и симфоническом монументализму. Нынешний блок концертов новой музыки обнажит те качества, за которые человечество преклоняется перед совершенством ручного труда, а также побудит слушателей стать соавторами концертов, ведь сразу в нескольких проектах заявлены как неотемлимые составляющие интерактивность и партисипативнисть.


Мифологизация, персонификация и героика существования уникальной личности по-разному воплотятся в программе, которая будет вписана в новый камерный концертный зал Одессы – Urban Music Hall . Он является не только официальным партнером и одной из главных площадок Фестиваля, но и уютным местом, которое лучше всего отвечает концепции программы.

 

  

  




Календарь перформансов

 

 

02.06, 21:30
Ensemble Nostri Temporis (Украина). Интуитивные ландшафты.
 

 

20180602-NUS-t


Концерт-действо «Интуитивные ландшафты» - это попытка примирения с банальным. Только рассмотрев прекрасное в простом, мы сможем полюбить его, сможем превратить его в искусство и через искусство познать это банальное заново, но уже на другом уровне. Узнать как прекрасную реальность, которая нас окружает.


Ensemble Nostri Temporis - украинский коллектив, специализирующийся на исполнении современной классической музыки. Основан в 2007 году в Киеве, вошел в семерку коллективов, отобранных для участия в проекте ENSEMBLE (Летние музыкальные курсы в Дармштадте, 2010). Ансамбль первым начал презентовать киевской публике антологии музыкального авангарда и модернизма, он пропагандирует музыку самых ярких современных композиторов разных поколений и открыт междисциплинарным проектам. Участники ансамбля сотрудничали с писателями Юрием Андруховичем, Юрием Издриком, Сергеем Жаданом, модельером Ксенией Марченко и др.


Состав ансамбля:
Максим Коломиец (гобой)
Артем Шестовський (кларнет / бас-кларнет)
Сергей Логинов (валторна)
Назар Стець (контрабас)
Мария Александрова (фортепиано)


Программа:
Владимир Горлинский — Possibly mercury?
Яна Шлябанська — melt.elt.el.e ...
Максим Коломиец — empty pedestals
Мартин Шюттлер — low_poly_rose
Антон Светличный — Generation Ctrl-C
Денис Бочаров — Cadenza

 

 


 

03.06, 21:30

airborne extended (Австрия). Камень. Ножницы. Бумага.

 

20180603-NUS-t

 

airborne extended– это необычная комбинация арфы, клавесина, флейты и блокфлейты, легкое и воздушное звучание, огромный спектр новых тембров и цветов.

 

Ансамбль был создан в 2013 году, и с тех пор по его заказу был написан огромный перечень произведений такими композиторами как Ханнес Кершбаумер, Паоло Римольди, Бернхард Ланг, Кэролайн Профантер, Дана Пробст, Сильви Лакруа, Иоанна Возня, Фернандо Ридерер, Вольфганг Миттерер, Бернхард Гайгль, Элизабет Харник, Томаш Скверес, Эдуард Деметц, Александр Кайзер, Маттиас Кранебиттер, Маргарета Ферек-Петрик, Элизабет Шимана, Мануэль Цвергер, Минг Ванг, Мирела Ивчевич, Клеменс Гаденштеттер и Матиас Шмидхаммер.

 

Состав ансамбля:
Елена Габриэлли (флейта, объекты)
Соня Ляипольд (фортепиано, объекты)
Каролин Майрхофер (блокфлейта/петцольд, объекты)
Колин-Мари Орлиак (арфа, объекты)
Алиса Кобзарь (саунддизайн, объекты)

 

Программа концерта:

Мануэль Цвергер — Hypotrophy (2018) для арфы, блокфлейты и гитары
Сальваторе Шаррино — fauno che fischia a un merlo (1980) для арфы и флейты
Анна Аркушина — uǝɯ-oʍ (2013) для четырех свистков
Александр Кайзер — The difficulty of crossing a field (2016) для трио
Ханнес Кершбаумер — not.to (2017) для блокфлейты, флейты, объектов и электроники
Анна Корсун — rock.paper.scissors (2010) для пяти исполнителей
Мехмет Али Узунселви — parallel textures (2018) для флейты, блокфлейты, арфы и фортепиано/электроники
Алиса Кобзарь — Prism (2018) для блокфлейты сопранино/контрабас-петцольда, флейты/басовой флейты, арфы, рояля и интерактивной живой электроники

 

 


 

04.06, 21:30

Ptakh_Jung і VJ Reinish (Украина). Layers

  

20180604-NUS-t

 


К фестивалю Odessa Classics Ptakh_Jung и VJ Reinish подготовят нечто особенное. Будет много экспериментов и электронного звучания. Музыканты планируют заняться саунд-дайвингом – поиском новых звуков в глубинах музыкальных устройств и составлением из них новой музыки.

 

Ptakh_Jung /Птах_Юнг/ – проект композитора и клавишника Антона Дегтярева Ptakh и гитариста Владимира Бабушкина Jung. Музыканты сочетают современную классику с пост-роком, эмбиент, нойзом, гранжем и электроникой. 


Проект появился в 2016 году как импровизационный дуэт. Впоследствии импровизации превратились в треки, а треки сложились в концертную программу. Каждая композиция Ptakh_Jung – история с мощной драматургией, симфонической глубиной и кинематографическим саспенсом. Сами музыканты называют свое творчество «саундтреками к несуществующим фильмам».

 

 


 

05.06, 21:30
Мацей Фронцкевич (Польша). Акорд_Эон

 

20180605-NUS-t


В своем проекте известный польский аккордеонист-виртуоз представит слушателям шесть произведений современных польских и украинских композиторов разного поколения. Эти композиции созданы в разное время (с 1983 года до 2016 года) и на разных этапах творческого становления композиторов. Каждое из произведений имеет свою предысторию возникновения, свой комментарий от автора и свою географию исполнения в интерпретации разными музыкантами. Музыкальный язык, характер, стилистические ориентиры, программность/не программность, технические задания - все это отличает одно произведение от другого. То, что их объединяет постоянно - один и тот же музыкальный инструмент. То, что объединяет их здесь и сейчас - исполнитель Мацей Фронцкевич и его проект Акорд_Эон, название которого представляет собой игру слов: аккорд, который резонирует в потенциальной бесконечности времени как абстрактной категории (философское понятие "Эон").

 

Мацей Фронцкевич — победитель и лауреат многих знаковых международных исполнительских конкурсов в Польше, Германии, Словакии, Италии и Испании. Получил награду Paszport "Polityki" от польского журнала Polityka и номинант на получение престижной польской музыкальной награды Fryderyk. Окончил Музыкальный университет Фридерика Шопена в Варшаве. Кроме того совершенствовал исполнительское мастерство, обучаясь в Германии, Австрии и Испании. Выпустил несколько компакт-дисков со старинной и современной музыкой для аккордеона. Концертирует в Польше и за рубежом, выступая с оркестрами и сольными проектами. Участник многих международных фестивалей современной музыки. Тесно сотрудничает с композиторами, благодаря чему в творчестве исполнителя более 80 премьер новых произведений, большинство из которых написаны специально для него.

 

Программа концерта:
Александр Щетинский - Соната (1983)
Богдан Сегин - A jak żeglarze ziemi cieszą się widokiem ... (2011)
Любава Сидоренко - Vertikalis (2005)
Дариуш Пшибыльський - Sonata da chiesa (2011)
Миколай Майкусяк - Dyad (2016)
Кшиштоф Пендерецкий - Sinfonietta (1990-91 / 2013)




 


06.06, 21:30

Алексей Шмурак и Heinali (Украина). Царица ночи.

  

20180606-NUS-t

 


Проект обращается к образам из оперы Моцарта «Волшебная флейта», где символика зороастризма (культа огнепоклонников) олицетворяет таинства масонской ложи, участником которой был композитор.

 

Главный антагонист в опере - Царица ночи - сначала выступает положительным персонажем, спасая главного героя от дракона. И только после ряда захватывающих приключений, напоминающие церемонии посвящения нового участника масонской ложи, мы постигаем истинное положение дел.

 

Противопоставление тьмы и света, огня и холода является темой проекта киевского дуэта исполнителей. Его своеобразная структура по замыслу авторов позволит почувствовать физическое присутствие символики и мистики выдающегося композитора.

 

Heinali - псевдоним композитора Олега Шпудейко, который работает в области электронной и электроакустической музыки.

 

Из недавних работ - лонгплей Anthem (2017) и общий лонгплей с американским поэтом Мэтом Финни How We Lived (2017), а также музыка для хореографической постановки «A Thread от Jean Abreu Dance» и видеоигры «Bound от Plastic / Sony Santa Monica».

 

Совместно с Алексеем Шмураком занимается электроакустическими перфомансами с акцентами на интердисциплинарности, работе с пространством и использовании различных медиа.

 

Работы Heinali выходили на Injazero, Flenser, Sony Interactive Entertainment и других лейблах.

 

 


 

 

07.06, 21:30
Дмитрий Радзецкий и «Supremus». Show of Hands

 

20180607-NUS-t


«Show of Hands» – аудиовизуальное произведение, в котором происходит разрушение границ между музыкантом, сценой и публикой. Каждый слушатель внезапно может оказаться участником произведения, дает возможность получить непредсказуемые повороты в развитии музыки.


Программа будет исполнена киевским проектом экспериментальной музыки «Supremus», руководителем которого является Дмитрий Радзецкий, вместе с братом, бас-гитаристом Сергеем Радзецким. Проект основан в 2009 году, и в его багаже ​​такие проекты, как «Гитарные галлюцинации» (Днепр, 2010; Киев, 2011; Харьков, 2012; Львов-Кропивницкий, 2015), «Ground Music I», «Ground Music II» (Киев, 2014), программа «Avant Floyd» - авторские фантазии на музыку «Pink Floyd» в составе с музыкантами группы «Океан Эльзы» Милошем Еличем и Денисом Глининым (Киев, 2015), «Hommage a Miles Davis», концерт, посвященный 90-летию со дня рождения джазового трубача и композитора Майлза Дэвиса (Киев, 2016).


Состав ансамбля:
Дмитрий Радзецкий (гитара)
Сергей Радзецкий (бас-гитара)
Дмитрий Пашинский (кларнет)
Сергей Охримчук (скрипка)
Алик Фантаев (ударные)




 

09.06, 21:30

Харьковський гитарний квартет (Украина). Orbital reverberance.

 

20180609-NUS-t


Новая музыка сегодня – это сложные концепции и уничтожение границ, структурное и стихийное, стремление к преодолению возможного в пространстве недостижимых абстракций. В конце концов каждый находит свою истину. Харьковский гитарный квартет попытается убедить слушателей, что гитара – это один из самых благоприятных инструментов для различных экспериментов и поисков в новой музыке на Земле и за ее пределами.


Kharkiv Guitar Quartet – творческая формация молодых музыкантов, целью которых является пропаганда современного музыкального искусства в Украине и за ее пределами. Благодаря сотрудничеству с украинскими и зарубежными композиторами квартет имеет в своем репертуаре ряд уникальных произведений, часть из которых посвящена ансамблю. Является участником и лауреатом международных конкурсов и фестивалей: «Guitar Spring Fest» (Одесса, 2010); «ГОГОЛЬFEST» (Киев, 2012, 2013); IX Белгородский международный конкурс исполнителей на классической гитаре и ансамблей гитаристов (Белгород, 2012, первая премия); «ПогранКульт: ГалицияКульт» (Харьков, 2016) и др. Главная цель коллектива – знакомить аудиторию с образцами современного искусства, способного обращаться к слушателю живым языком современности.


Состав ансамбля:
Сергей Горкуша
Максим Трянов
Ирина Половинка
Андрей Брагин


Программа концерта:
Даниэль Кесснер — Reverberance
Денис Бочаров — Six movements
Антонио Баллестин Лиара — Like an Eagle
Филип Гласс — Струнный квартет №2
Эндрю Йорк — Quiccan
Роланд Диенс — Сюита «Hamsa»
Андрей Андрушко — Literacy path